Angel Olsen announces new album ‘Whole New Mess’ and shares new single

Photo by Emma Swann for DIY

Angel Olsen has a new album ‘Whole New Mess’ out on the 28th of August via Jagjaguwar, and released a single of the same with with an accompanying music video directed by Ashley Connor.

This is the first new music since she released her critically acclaimed album ‘All Mirrors’ last year. Most of the songs on the new album are early versions of the tracks that later appeared on ‘All Mirrors’. Not demos though, but the songs in a different mood. She released this statement about the album “Whole New Mess follows All Mirrors. At least nine of the eleven songs on Whole New Mess should sound familiar to any of you who have heard All Mirrors. “Lark,” “Summer,” “Chance”—they are all here, at least in some skeletal form and with slightly different titles. But these are not the demos for All Mirrors. Instead, Whole New Mess is its own record with its own immovable mood. If the lavish orchestral arrangements and cinematic scope of All Mirrors are the sound of Olsen preparing her scars for the wider world to see, Whole New Mess is the sound of her first figuring out their shape, making sense for herself of these injuries.”

Earlier in the year Johnny Jewel from The Chromatics remixed the title track of her last album ‘All Mirrors’. In June Mark Ronson released a remix of ‘New Love Cassette’ also from her last album.

She has also recently been playing live-streamed concerts in her ‘Cosmic Stream’ series and has announced the third in the series on August 28th to celebrate the new album. Tickets can be found here.

Watch the new video below.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s