Photo by Mark James

Gruff Rhys has announced his seventh solo album Seeking New Gods, set to be released on May 21st via Rough Trade Records, pre-order here. He has also shared new single “Loan Your Loneliness” along with an accompanying video.

Seeking New Gods started off as a biography of active East Asian volcano Mount Paektu, but as he investigated it, his ideas for songs became more personal, taking on themes he’s explored since at least Super Furry Animals’ “Slow Life.” “The album is about people and the civilizations, and the spaces people inhabit over periods of time,” says Gruff. “How people come and go but the geology sticks around and changes more slowly. I think it’s about memory and time. It’s still a biography of a mountain, but now it’s a Mount Paektu of the mind. You won’t learn much about the real mountain from listening to this record but you will feel something, hopefully.”

Watch the new video below.

1. Mausoleum Of My Former Self
2. Can’t Carry On
3. Loan Your Loneliness
4. Seeking New Gods
5. Hiking In Lightning
6. Holiest Of The Holy Men
7. The Keep
8. Everlasting Joy
9. Distant Snowy Peaks

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s