Adia Victoria announces new album ‘A Southern Gothic’

Photo by Huy Nguyen

Adia Victoria has announced new album A Southern Gothic, out on 17th September via Canvasback / Parlophone Records. The record was executive produced by T Bone Burnett, and features guest contributions from Jason Isbell, Margo Price, and Matt Berninger. Adia has also shared the first single from the upcoming album with “Magnolia Blues.”

Speaking on the new single Victoria noted:

“In an unpublished manuscript in 1933, William Faulkner spoke on the Southerner’s ‘need to talk, to
tell, since oratory is our heritage. After a year spent in my room in Nashville, I wondered what stories I had to tell. Often the only view of the South beyond my window was the magnolia tree in my backyard. It blocked the rest of the world from my sight. I limited my gaze to its limbs, its leaves and the obscene bloom of its iconic white flower.

The magnolia has stood as an integral symbol of Southern myth making, romanticism, the Lost Cause
of the Confederates and the white washing of Southern memory. ‘Magnolia Blues’ is a reclaiming of
the magnolia – an unburdening if its limbs of the lies it has stood for “

Listen to the new single below!

This song centers the narrative
of a Black Southern woman’s furious quest to find her way back home to the South under the shade
of her Magnolia.


  1. Magnolia Blues
  2. Mean-Hearted Woman
  3. You Was Born To Die (ft. Kyshona Armstrong, Margo Price & Jason Isbell)
  4. Whole World Knows
  5. Troubled Mind
  6. Far From Dixie
  7. Please Come Down
  8. My oh My (ft. Stone Jack Jones)
  9. Deep Water Blues
  10. Carolina Bound
  11. South For The Winter (ft. Matt Berninger)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s