Aught announces debut single “Oversight”

Aught aka Stephen Deehan has today announced their debut single “Oversight” set to be released on April 9th via Relic Records. This is the third release from Relic Records following on from Soba’s And Then They Run and Clifford’s New Turf.

Oversight explores depths of space, vocals echo seeking response; only to find reckless rhythms and beats that respond sharply. A groove being found within the emptiness of connection. With their debut single, Aught establishes themselves as a musician seeking more than driving rhythms; purpose through connection, hope within bond. FFO of Bonobo, Caribou & Four Tet.

In a statement Aught said this about the new single:

“For those who are able to feel liquid through air, Eden is easily understood as a place with an abundance of growth.
Skin to light, heat to cell; our bodies thrive here. Our existence is constantly with us and yet we feel a need to discover more.”

Listen to the premier of the new single below and pre-order here.

Clifford announces debut EP ‘New Turf’

Upcoming electronic artist Clifford aka David Tucker has announced his debut EP set to be released on February 12th via Relic Records. This is the second release from the Midlands based record label, following on from Soba’s And Then They Run. Available to pre-order here now.

Speaking on the EP Clifford said: “On this four track piece, New Turf, I seek to establish the variety of soundscapes that coexist within my artistry. From the get go, Pastures is a sun-blazed song propelled by syncopated hi-hats and a rolling bass-line. It is hard to listen to the track without thinking of blue skies. On the B-Side, Sunken Souls continues to extend these vivid soundscapes. Sandpaper Dub and No Contact are both experiments that seemed to develop further than their simple origins. They represent a desire for difference, inspired by the contemporary.

Enjoy the New Turf.”

Artwork by Stephen Deehan (@stephndn)

Soba announce debut EP ‘And Then They Run’

Soba have announced their debut EP And Then They Run set to be released on the newly formed Relic Records. The duo consisting of DJ Custard and Joe Marsh of The Worst Guys have joined to create the new electronic outfit Soba. Here’s what the description says about the release:

‘And Then They Run’ is the result of a 3 year project starting back in November 2017. The collection of tracks is a direct product of the sounds that have been absorbed throughout the time of Soba’s existence. This five track EP now acts as an introduction to the vast and deep sounds that Soba have created throughout this duration. 

Throughout the EP, the variation of genre and sounds is the evidence of influence that Soba have taken from their environment. On ‘Valhalla’, enormous synthesiser melodies are swamped by the dark and twisted voices of those that have preceded us. Whilst on ‘Final Breaths’, the movement of air exceeds thumping kicks that propel the movement across the piece. The use of synthesisation and recordings accumulate the warmth and serenity of music that give Soba the ability to produce evocative dance music embedded within reality. 

A summation of underground sounds from the likes of Four Tet, Daniel Avery and Mall Grab; whilst combining their unique perception of ambiance allows Soba to excel to heights and sounds that master the excellence of dance music. In between the addictive rhythms and melodies, there is meaning and warmth that only exists within natural forms.

And Then They Run is available to pre-order here.


  1. I Am Losing My Voice
  2. Untitled
  3. Valhalla
  4. Hel
  5. Final Breaths